Last night at Basketball practice…

I coach three basketball teams this year at the YMCA.  The Midnight Wolves, Colt’s team, are ages 5-6.  Luke plays on the Golden Cheetahs, ages 7-9, and Taya hoops it up with the 10-12 year old Team Impact.

This is Luke’s fourth year playing, he’s 8 years old, and during last night’s scrimmage asked me if he could talk to them.  I didn’t know what he meant so he repeated himself.  “Daddy, can I talk to them?”  I finally asked him what he meant and he said, “my team.”
OOOOOO, he wanted a time-out.  “Ok,” I said, “Time-Out boys team.”

I was standing out of bounds when Luke called his teammates over.  “This is what we are going to do ok,” he said, “Levi, you are going to inbound the ball to me.  I’m going to dribble it down and pass it to you (pointing at another teammate), then you are going to make a basket.  Ok?”

The rest of the team nodded in agreement.  On the next play one of the bigger kids grabbed a rebound, dribbled it across half court and lost it out of bounds.  Luke flung his hands in the air and said, “remember, you pass it to me and I’ll dribble it down.”

I was so proud of my son.  He’s a slow learner (like his dad) but he is really starting to understand that Basketball is more than just playing a game.  It’s about how all pieces work together to accomplish the goal of making a basket on every possession.  He took the initiative to pull the team together and ‘talk to them’ so they could achieve their goal.
Can’t wait for more of these moments with all of my children.

Leave a Reply

