My 2015 NFL QB Top Ten Rankings

I’m a die hard Seahawk fan so when I was asked by SkullKingFootball.com to provide my top 10 QB rankings for the upcoming 2015 season I was anxious to see who would be the top on my list.  You see I go with what the data tells me because there is no way on God’s green earth that I would EVER, AND I MEAN EVER, pick Big Ben as the number one ranked QB in the NFL.  Blech!

I started with the consensus top ten by sporting websites like ESPN, Fox Sports, Yahoo, and Sports Illustrated but then had to rank them in the order I thought was best.  For me to get that order I had to look at the data.  I’ll get into that later but first…

TOP TEN QB RANKINGS

Rank      Player                                Score
1              Ben Roethlisberger           63
2              Tony Romo                        66
3              Russell Wilson                  66
4              Aaron Rodgers                  67
5              Peyton Manning               70
6              Tom Brady                         75
7              Andrew Luck                     75
8              Philip Rivers                      77
9              Drew Brees                        88
10           Joe Flaco                             99

Once I had the common ten I wanted to put them in the what I felt was the right order based on several criteria that I’ve listed below.  The rankings were 1 through 10 with 1 being best and 10 being worst.  In the case of durability and WR depth the QB with the most sacks, hits, hurries, and games played would get a higher rank which is a lower score.

I added the scores up from each column and the QB with the lowest total score ranked higher. In the event of a tie, I used my own opinion.

  • Leadership – Each QB was given a 1, 2, or 3
    • 1 – Makes everyone around him better
    • 2 – Keeps to himself
    • 3 – My way or the highway
  • Accountability – Each QB was given a 1, 2, or 3
    • 1 – Takes blame for loss and gives praise to others in win
    • 2 – In a loss says things like: “we were the better team”
    • 3 – Makes excuses
  • Audible Ability – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Changing the play at the LOS
  • Athleticism – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Scramble ability and escapability
  • Arm Strength – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Stand up in the pocket and let it fly, Uncle Rico style
  • Release – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • How fast does the ball leave the QB’s fingertips
  • Winning % – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Games played and games won by %
  • Accuracy – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Completion ranking via NFL.com
  • TD to INT Ratio – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • From NFL.com
  • Game Winning Drives % – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Games played and GWD in 4th quarter %
  • Number of Big Plays in 2014 – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Passing Big Plays only
  • Durability – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Takes into account
      • Number of Sacks
      • OL ranking
      • Games Played in 2014 season
  • Total number 1’s on sheet – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Compiled the number 1’s from spreadsheet and rewarded QB’s based on how many number 1’s they received
  • NFL Passer Rating (2014) – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • Stats taken from NFL.com
  • NFL Receiver depth charts – Each QB was given a rank from 1-10
    • How good is the QB based on how the WR corps is ranked?

 

TopTenNFLQB

Leave a Reply

