Whom shall I fear?

ebolaWe have a phenomenal opportunity to be an example.  As a Christian I hope you share in this excitement.

As fear grows for one of the worst virus’ in a long time you can be an example of how living a “fearlessly in fear” lifestyle can impact those that have no hope or understanding of the peace that God can truly give.

As a Christian the JOY of the Lord is my strength.  Our thoughts and confidence should be on Him and not on the circumstances of the day.  We should fear nothing, well, except for one thing:  God.

Christians should be living fearlessly in fear.  Get it?

My 11 year old daughter asked about Ebola and airborne and what do we do.  I responded by asking her:

“Do you think God’s plan for your life is to die from Ebola?”

“No,” she answered.

I said, “OK, what is God’s plan for your life?”

She said, “I don’t know.”

“Well, what do we know about God’s expectation of us?” I asked.

“Tell others about Jesus?” she asked carefully.

“Right.” (I was beaming and so proud of my little girl) “Now, let me ask you, if you had Ebola and were talking about Jesus to the camera, how many people to do you think would be listening to you?”

She thought about it for a minute, then answered, “a lot.”

“Exactly” I said with some excitement.  “Now what if you died from Ebola and over 5,000 people accepted Jesus in their heart because they saw your courage and strength and your trust in Jesus.”

“That would be cool” she said with a smile.

Now some of you may be reading this and thinking to yourself that I’m out of my mind; that this discussion is too morbid for an 11 year old to understand.  Well, if that is the case, you don’t know me at all, for I’m a future filmmaker and ANYTHING that happens in this world is played out in my mind as a movie.

I’ve given my kids countless scenarios of conflict and crisis that will test their faith.  They are used to these types of conversations.

Now let me ask you… If you could show courage, trust, hope, joy in your trust in the King of Kings and thousands of people were influenced because you showed it after contracting this virus, would you want that platform?

Interesting question isn’t it.

One thing I want to make very very clear.  I do not believe God wants anyone to perish and all to have eternal life.  He is a loving God and loves his children.  I don’t think he sends Ebola to punish us, etc.  That said, however, it is what it is.  If this virus takes off like some say it might we need to be prayed up and solid in the scripture and know that God is in control.  We need to trust completely in Jesus because the whole world is watching and I’m ready to be an example.

Are you?

Leave a Reply

