Produce Fruit in keeping with repentance

fruit

I’m going to stop reading the Bible via YouVersion.

As much as I really dig YouVersion it’s not a good witness to my children.  You see my kids notice that I love football because I watch so much of it.  They know I love basketball because I play it all the time.  My kids see that I work out; all the time and I have heard them mention it when talking with their friends.  My kids know I love God since we pray and go to church regularly.

But do they know I read the bible?  Probably not since it looks like I’m just reading something from my phone.  Could be the bible, another book, email, etc.  I know it’s hip for pastors to read from their phone, but separating one’s action speaks volume to those that may not know.

For the final three months of what has been an incredible growth year for me I’m reading the New Testament.  I calculated that three chapters a day would get me through it all in the next three months.

Today I read Matthew 1-3 and chapter 3 really jumped out at me.  Here are some of the things I’d like to share.

  • John the Baptist boldly says “repent” without fear of offending anyone.
  • People came from all over confessing their sins.  The act of confession is important in securing eternal life.
  • John the Baptist called out the Pharisees and Sadducees for not producing fruit.  Wow

Chapter 3 verse 7 and 8 reads:  But when he saw many of the Pharisees and Sadducees coming to where he was baptizing, he said to them: “You brood of vipers! Who warned you to flee from the coming wrath? 8 Produce fruit in keeping with repentance.

John is a great example for us as believers.  We should be sharing the repent message and not worry about what other people think.  The feeling of ‘pride’ reigns supreme in today’s culture and many claim to be Christians but aren’t into confessing their sins.  What is sin may even come up in conversation.  Silly, I know, but I’m in the marketplace and trust me it’s there.

Lastly, for those that are proud and claim to be Christian should be producing fruits.  Shoot, we all should be producing fruits but what I find interesting is John called them out.  Is it time that we call out those that are close to us if their are not producing fruit?  I don’t know the answer to that question especially since I’m focusing on producing fruit by sharing the good news, but I think it’s a question that will need to start coming up.

Will you read with me?  Three New Testament chapters a day for the next 90 days is all.  Would love to have you join me.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. John the baptist judged others as did Jesus and many others in the Christian bible. It sets the tone for believers to judge others… which is only natural, but Mathew calls us to not do this. Why would you give such judgements a ‘wow’ ?

    Why encourage those who follow you to ‘call out those not producing fruit’ among you? I’m reasonably certain that Mathew 7 conflicts with this? Besides that, socially speaking, it’s not good for the group to have some inthe group being judgemental of others… in high school they called that a clique. Is that what you’re aiming for with your flock?

    Why not encourage your flock to help those around them that they see might need help? Why be judgemental and accusatory? Is satan in your church?

  2. Leslie says:

    I see where you are getting at. I personally like having my physical Bible. It is for sure a great witnessing tool to my kids. I must say having the Bible App is a nice feature to have on you when your Bible is not handy and you’re having a conversation with someone. I still take my Bible to church and write/highlight in it. I’ve been reading a plan on You Version, but during the summer I had a glitch and have not kept up with it. I did however open my Bible and continued. We have a B90x plan to read the New Testament at church. I’ve been thinking about adding it on to my reading. Is yours similar? Thanks for sharing dude!

  3. Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians that he planted, and Apollos watered, but God gave the increase. Is it possible that despite Paul’s preaching the gospel throughout the Mediterranean world, that there may have been places where people could have “called out” Paul because he didn’t bear fruit? Sometimes people plant the seed, but others reap the harvest. On the other hand, all of us should bear evidence of the fruit of the Spirit in our lives. I do appreciate your concern about what your children think you’re doing. Your decision there shows your love for them.

Leave a Reply

