Long live the Messiah?

Name Change Messiah

If you haven’t read the story about Judge Lu Ann Ballew denying a child the name of “Messiah” you can read about it here:  http://newsfeed.time.com/2013/08/12/judge-messiah-is-not-an-acceptable-baby-name/.

Her statement is what bugs me the most.  Judge Lu Ann Ballew stated “The word Messiah is a title and it’s a title that has only been earned by one person and that one person is Jesus Christ.”

Say what????

Now if you know me you know I’m a bible believing Jesus loving freak that will defend the church and religion til the day I die, but this lady has abused her power as a judge.

This is the problem with our country.  Judges and law makers are using their gut feeling to circumvent the law and individual’s rights.  As much as I grieve for children that have parents who are morons (yes, if you name your kid Messiah I can call you a moron) I do feel the parent has a right to name their children what they want no matter how silly it is.  (Imagine naming your child something like ‘Apple.’  Oh, wait, that’s been done before).

A child also has the right to change his or her name once they are of legal age to do so.

But when a judge doesn’t like what parents have done because it challenges their religious beliefs and uses her power to enforce a change I get worried.  What if it was a Muslim judge and that Muslim judge used their religious belief to sway their decision.  Or if a Muslim law maker used their religious belief to introduce laws.

This judge was wrong.  Stop It!

When I first read the letter I didn’t know how to respond, kind of like a police officer pulling a pregnant lady over who was on her way to get an abortion.  As much as I despise abortion, that police officer shouldn’t use their authority to delay writing a speeding ticket so that the person misses their appointment.  I heard a story like that many years ago and the person that told it was proudly beaming about the ‘victory’ in the name of Jesus.

I don’t like either situations because Christians very soon will be persecuted under these same gut feelings by others.  The tide will quickly turn on us and it will happen like these two examples.  One person of power feeling a certain way about my beliefs as a Christian.

What do you guys think about this judge’s ruling?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Contentment says:

    Nice post! I totally agree with you! I will admit when I first saw the title and the first paragraph of your post I wasn’t too sure about it. As I read it, it makes so much sense to me. It’s not fair what the judge did. That’s one things I really struggle with when it comes to some of my conservative christian friends. I believe they genuinely do love God but their so narrow minded in their opinions that they don’t try to see things in another person’s perspective. Because of this it’s very hard for me to open in very in depth conversations when it comes to my faith and politics with them. Our conversations are usually very superficial to keep the peace.

Leave a Reply

