Pride Night with Seattle Storm

I received some tickets to see the Seattle Storm from work and since Lindsay works on Friday night I thought it would be fun to take the kids.  Work provided the suite which meant my kids could be secured and not cause a ruckus down in the stands.  I was prepared for everything…or so I thought.

As I witnessed more and more people walking up to the Key Arena I began to wonder if all the stereo type messaging I’ve heard about the WNBA were true.  Then I was reminded by a shirt what weekend this was…PRIDE WEEKEND.

Now I can handle these things but what I wasn’t ready for was a conversation to my 10, 8, 6 and 3 year old about what this truly meant.

We arrived to the ticket person when I asked what type of presentation would be displayed in honor of this weekend.  I pointed to my kids and smiled asking ‘are we going to stay appropriate tonight?’  The kind lady nodded her head and said ‘absolutely nothing to worry about.  A fair question considering.’

I thought it was nice of her to add that last comment about it being a fair question.

The rainbow theme was everywhere.  I actually don’t have a problem with that.  A rainbow is a sign that God will not destroy the earth with a mighty flood.  Regardless of our sinful prideful ways the rainbow tells me that God loves the human race he created.

storm
The kids watching the Seattle Storm warming up

As the game started the word pride and proud was mentioned as often as it could.  Apparently it was the kick-off to pride weekend.  Again, this didn’t bother me, there was nothing inappropriate in speaking the ‘pride’ talk.

Praise God we got to halftime and Colt was still being an angel.  He was eating popcorn, two hot dogs, chips, peanuts, coke, sprite but I knew that time was ticking before he would be running all over the suite.

This was the last part of my worry, what type of halftime show would we have?  The halftime performance would be done by Mary Lambert who had an exceptional voice.  Very passionate.  She sang a song ‘She Keeps Me Warm.’

As I listened to the lyrics of the song I wondered who she was singing to.  As a song writer I’m critical of the direction of the lyrics, if you are singing to someone in a verse, you shouldn’t switch it up in the chorus.  Christian artists do this a lot with singing to a friend in the verse, then switching the direction of the message to God.  I know, overly critical, God’s still working on me.

The first thing I noticed was how beautiful her voice was.  Reminded me of someone but I couldn’t place it.  Nevertheless, I was still very impressed.  In the verse she started singing about her relationship with her love.  Her first verse is referencing her love staring out with ‘she says…and I named both of her eyes.’  That meant she’s singing about the relationship.  Then it gets to the chorus

I can’t change, even if I tried
I can’t change, even if I wanted to
I can’t change, even if I tried
I can’t change, even if I wanted to

This came out of left field for me and I wondered who she was talking to, was it her parents perhaps?

Verse two is intermixed with singing to her love and then singing about her love and then we get to the chorus.

The chorus is out of place in my opinion, doesn’t fit the ‘love song’ vibe when you get to the defensive chorus.  The crowd disagreed with me though, every time she sang “I can’t change” the crowd erupted.

Special shout out to the Seattle Storm organization.  Nothing was over the top and for a parent and evangelical Christian I’m thankful for that.

So I really started to think about what she meant by that.  It certainly wasn’t sung to society.  Statistics show that society is more than ever welcoming of same sex relationships.

Was it sung to the church?  I’m part of the church and more and more of us don’t care if you are a gay.  What we should care about is your salvation and sharing the good news.   But even the churches that in the past would point out ‘gay sin’ they are turning their message around.  What ‘the church’ has a problem with in regards to the gay agenda is…

1.  Redefining marriage
2.  Stating it’s OK to be a Christian AND live a sexually promiscuous lifestyle

So my guess is that the ‘I can’t change’ chorus may be to her parents or perhaps someone she fell for that didn’t feel the same way.

I felt for this girl, anyone that so passionately cries out ‘I can’t change’ brings sadness to my heart.  The idea that ‘I can’t change’ is a lie from the pit of hell, it’s a defeatist attitude.  You can change, you can have hope.  Now, don’t get me wrong, this gal probably doesn’t want to change so she’s free to live her life out how she wants but for those that may want to change, you can.

Jesus said ‘we must be born again.’  Born again is a changing of the heart, mind and soul and it comes with a decision that is calculated and wanted.  She may not want to change, but she can absolutely change.

I’ll end with this:  In the future when I’m getting physically beaten by those demanding I change, those demanding that I deny Christ.  I won’t cry out ‘I can’t change’ I will instead shout ‘I won’t change.’

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Kris Milstead says:

    I’m only going to argue with one point here: I’ve noticed that you seem to equate being gay with being sexually promiscuous. In a previous post you questioned if there are gay virgins.

    Of course there are. I’ve known plenty of men and women who identified as gay but had never had a sexual partner. In addition, while of course there are plenty of promiscuous gay people, there are also plenty who are rather chaste in their lifestyles. In my own experience I’ve known quite a few men/women who were with their first partner and/or in monogamous relationships.

    Being gay does not give one a corner on promiscuity and it is inaccurate and unfair to label anyone who is gay as being sexually promiscuous.

  2. Anonymous says:

    “Now I can handle these things but what I wasn’t ready for was a conversation to my 10, 8, 6 and 3 year old about what this truly meant.”

    What explaining to your children that as long as they are straight they are ok in your eyes would be too hard?

    I honestly pray to God that one of your children will turn out to be gay so that you’ll have to get off your Christian high horse and man up and be a real example of a Christian for them. You seem to think that because you are straight and a follower of God that you should be more entitled to life.

    You seem to think that everything written in the bible is exact and that’s how it needs to be. Laws change over time because they aren’t right.

    Do you/would you:

    Eat pork? Leviticus 11:7-8
    Eat shellfish? Leviticus 11:9-12
    Cut your hair or trim your beard? Leviticus 19:27
    Eat steak that isn’t well done? Leviticus 19:26
    Wear clothes made of more than one material? Leviticus 19:19
    Let a women wear jewelry made of gold? 1 Timothy 2:9
    Eat fat? Leviticus 3:17
    Ever work on Sundays? Exodus 31:14-15
    Cast out any male that is uncircumcised? Genesis 17:14
    Let women speak, sing, or ask questions in church? 1 Corinthians 14:34-35
    Let anyone born out-of-wedlock into the church? (In the US 40.7% of all children born are out of wedlock) Deuteronomy 23:2
    Cast out your own son whenever they have a wet dream? Deuteronomy 23:10-11

    The bible is full of many things that needed to be changed overtime so that people could be happy and equal.

    Why should gay marriage be anything different?

    Give me one reason or excuse as to how gay people being able to marry each other will directly effect you? (and leave God and the bible out of this, your a big boy you can think for yourself)

    Sincerely:

    A gay guy that God loves

Leave a Reply

