Silence the Ignorant?

 

Today the Supreme Court struck down the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) which caused many to speak out via Facebook.  This is where things got interesting.

One of my Facebook friends posted that today was a historic day and one step closer to silencing the ignorant.

nofreespeech

Another friend commented asking a fair question:  If someone disagrees with your view they are ignorant?  It’s a good point and one that should be addressed.  If I disagree (like most of the people in the US according to statistics) that marriage shouldn’t be redefined am I really ignorant?

The definition of Ignorant (adjective) is

1. Lacking knowledge or awareness in general; uneducated or unsophisticated.
2. Lacking knowledge, information, or awareness about something in particular: “ignorant of astronomy”.

I know what I’m taking about therefore I don’t fit the ignorant definition.

Here’s where I stand:  It’s always been boy meets girl.  Sorry if that offends you but it’s true.   Now, same sex attraction has been around for all of that time as well but never in the sense of ‘marriage.’   In today’s post racist world, any man can marry any woman.  “Any” means that all men and women have the same rights to marry each other.   For someone to say that there isn’t marriage equality they are incorrect.

This started with one man or one woman not liking the status quo of a man and woman marrying so they started to inquire with a question of ‘why’ or ‘it’s not fair.’  Originally, it was packaged as we want the same rights as hetrosexual marriages but as in the state of Washington, where the rights were already acknowledged by the state, the bullies pushed and pushed to be recognized as a married couple.  (You see I can use drive by descriptions like bullies just as others tag me as ignorant.  Because the definition of bully is to use superior strength or influence to intimidate (someone), typically to force him or her to do what one wants).

Personally, what two people want to do in their own time is none of my business.

I have never called someone out for being ‘gay.’

I have never said, ‘being gay sends you to hell.’

I have never used the Bible to try and convince non-Christians that the gay lifestyle is sin.  For what is sin to a non-Christian anyway?

Don’t get me wrong, if you claim to be a Christian and want to be gay I will call you out.  But understand the ‘calling you out’ is based on your sexually promiscuous lifestyle (are there virgin gays?) regardless of what gender you are with.

For example, if you are a guy that is my close friend claiming to be a Christian and you move in with your girlfriend, we have issues and I’ll be sure to voice my concern calling you to repentance based on biblical standards.

The world is changing – I get it – but let’s be real. Don’t try and say ‘no gay marriage is unfair or unconstitutional.’  Stand up for what you perceive as rights and state what it is you want.  Which is to REDEFINE what marriage is in this country.

People like me will be on the other side, we will stand for what marriage has always been:  Between male and female.  History alone shows that believing in a man and woman marriage is far from ignorant.

Scorn me.  Hate me.  Beat me. Kill me.  I will not be silent.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

