The “Me First” Revolution

My devotional the other day from Rick Warren caused me to think about what this country has become with our ‘me first’ mentality.  This has even crept in the church.

mefirst

His devotional starts out like this:  “Me-first’ believers ask, “How can God make my life more comfortable?” They want to use God for their purposes instead of being used for his purposes.

This idea that God accepts me for “who I am” is false and feeds into the idea of ‘me first.’   In the Bible Jesus says “behold I stand at the door and knock.”  Jesus is the one knocking on the door of your heart.  When you open that door, you are accepting Him. On His terms.

I often wonder about Jesus talking to some liberal ‘me first’ progressive.  The conversation may go something like this.

Jesus:  Go and sin no more

Liberal ‘me first’ progressive (knuckle head):  Sin? What sin?  Jesus, what are you implying?

Jesus:  [silent]

Knuckle head: I mean Jesus, what is sin really?  I’m a good person, I’ve lived a good life and haven’t hurt anyone.

Jesus:  [silent]

Knuckle head:  Jesus, can you please comment on what you meant by sin no more?  In my mind I don’t have sin, there isn’t anything wrong with any of your creation.  You created me remember.

Jesus:  [has left the building]

Knuckle head:  And really, I don’t think it’s fair to suggest that any of us have sin.  I feel that we are all good people and…Jesus?  Jesus are you there? (sigh) Jesus never talks to me.

That’s what I envision would happen.  The knuckle head just doesn’t get it.  Don’t be a knuckle head.  Humble yourself, repent and turn from your sin.  You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

